Home / Euro 2016 / Belgium’s Euro 2016 squad announced

Belgium’s Euro 2016 squad announced

After the injury to Vincent Kompany meant that he was to miss Euro 2016 it left Belgium Manager Marc Wilmots with a dilemma as to who would come in and replace him. Wilmots announced a 24 man provisional squad and it must be said it is very attack heavy.  There are no fewer than 8 attackers listed with only 4 recognised Midfielders.

Tottenham and Liverpool are both well represented with 3 players each, while not forgetting a whole host of other Premier League stars making the cut, 11 players in total come from Premier League clubs but with Vincent Kompany on the sidelines is the all important player missing.

One selection that did raise a few eyebrows is that of Dedryck Boyata, he;ll now be hoping that he isn’t the man left behind when the final 23 man squad is named.  Nacer Chadli can only make the stand by list at this point, which is probably fair enough due to not getting as much game time as he would have probably liked at Tottenham this season

Will such an imblanaced squad you have to wonder how Marc Wilmots will fit in all the attacking talent in the side. I guess it’s a good problem to have with such an embarrassment of riches but he’ll have to hope his Midfield is wrapped up in cotton wool between now and the start of the June. Below is the full squad

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Jean-Francois Gillet (Mechelen), Simon Mignolet (Liverpool).

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham), Dedryck Boyata (Celtic), Jason Denayer (Galatasaray), Bjorn Engels (Club Brugge), Nicolas Lombaerts (Zenit St Petersburg), Jordan Lukaku (Oostende), Thomas Meunier (Club Brugge), Thomas Vermaelen (Barcelona), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham).

Midfielders: Mousa Dembele (Tottenham), Marouane Fellaini (Man United), Radja Nainggolan (Roma), Axel Witsel (Zenit St Petersburg).

Attackers: Michy Batshuayi (Marseille), Christian Benteke (Liverpool), Yannick Carasco (Atletico Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Man City), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Romelu Lukaku (Everton), Dries Mertens (Napoli), Divock Origi (Liverpool).

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
Massachusetts cardura shipping Sydney furosemide shipping Crestor vs vytorin Buy propecia from Salem