Home / Football / Actually Thomas make that 2 trophies

Actually Thomas make that 2 trophies

UEFA have forced Barcelona defender Thomas Vermaelen to return his Champions League winners medal, due to a lack of appearances in the competition.

According to UEFA rules, a player can only recieve a Champions League medal if he has appeared in the competition during the season.

Thomas Vermaelen’s injury stricken campaign has meant he has played no part in the Catalan club’s road to glory in Berlin and therefore he can’t be considered a Champions League winner.

The Belgian ace is not the only player from Barcelona to miss out on a winners medal. Chilean goalkeeper Claudio Bravo and Brazilian full back Douglas Pereira also miss out on being Champions League winners as neither of them have featured in the competition this season.

The news caps off an incredibly frustrating season for Thomas Vermaelen who only signed for Barcelona from Arsenal last summer.

If you are looking for content creators for your website and/or media outlet, then please drop me an email at realfootballmanwordpress@gmail.com and I'd be happy to discuss what opportunities you have. Thanks, Dan

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: