Home / UFWC / Unofficial Football World Championship – Update

Unofficial Football World Championship – Update

After my international football and blog hiatus of last week it unfortunately meant that I missed out on updating the progress of the UFWC crown and what progress there has been. Not only has their been one title change but there has been two.

When we left off previously Chile were holders of the crown after winning their second Copa America crown in successive years. Once again they defeated Argentina on penalties to the double of Copa America and UFWC holders.

But since then it has been all change, Chile’s reign lasted just one game as they fell at the hands of Paraguay in Asuncion after losing 2-1. It was a first game in charge of Paraguay for Francisco Arce and his side got off to a stunning start.

Unfortunately their reign as holders would be shortlived, just 5 days to be exact as they were soundly beaten by Uruguay in Montevideo. The Uruguayan’s earned their third reign as UFWC Champions in the space of three years with a comprehensive 4-0 win over Paraguay.

Uruguay opened the scoring midway through the first half, when Cavani converted a Suarez cross with a stunning right-foot finish. Then in the 42nd minute, a Gaston Ramirez corner was headed into the net by Cristian Rodriguez. And, in first-half injury time, Suarez won and scored a penalty to make the score 3-0.

Ten minutes into the second half it was 4-0, following more great work from Suarez, who bamboozled the Paraguayan defenders before lobbing the ball into the six-yard box, where Cavani scored with a firm header.

That conclusive victory makes Uruguay once again holders of the UFWC crown and they will now look to keep hold of it throughout the myriad of South American World Cup Qualifiers, with the next one being in October against Venezuela.

Normal service will be resumed in October when I’ll bring you a preview and review of the next title match. Until then

Here are the list of winners since I’ve been tracking in 2011

North Korea
Costa Rica
Argentina (2)
Argentina (3)
Argentina (4)
Uruguay (2)
Chile (2)
Uruguay (3)

There hasn’t been a European holder since Germany won the World Cup Final back in 2014

If you are looking for content creators for your website and/or media outlet, then please drop me an email at realfootballmanwordpress@gmail.com and I'd be happy to discuss what opportunities you have. Thanks, Dan

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: